Q: How old do I have to be to rent a boat?
A: You need to be at least 21 years old to form a contract with Funday Watersports. Any age can ride along. We will go over all the safety features with you, give you full instructions and rules for boating.
Q: Do I need a boating license?
A: Florida law requires the driver of the pontoon boat to be at least16 years of age and if you were born on or after January 1, 1988 you must have a valid Florida Boaters License or complete a boaters safety test. Follow this link to obtain your license.
Q: What if I’ve never driven a boat?
A: The majority of our rentals have never driven a boat before. We go through boat handling instruction with you to insure that you are comfortable with driving the boat before you leave the docks. There will be dock attendants helping you in and out of the slip when you leave and arrive back to the docks.
Q: How many passengers are allowed on a pontoon boat?
A: All of our boats are limited 12 people or 1700 lbs max.
Q: Can I bring a pet?
A: Yes. Pets are allowed on the boats with a $100 deposit that you will get back when you return the boat with no damage.
Q: Where am I allowed to go?
A: You are allowed to take the boat through the Destin Harbor and the Choctawhatchee Bay. NO pontoon boats are allowed in the Gulf of Mexico. You are free to go to Crab Island, Noriega Point, or just cruise around. For your safety, we do not allow anything to be pulled behind the pontoon boat. (Ex. Water-skis, tubes, wakeboards)
Q: Are we allowed to bring coolers and food? What about alcohol?
A: A cooler is provided for your convenience. We recommend you bring drinks and food for a picnic on the beach or while you are cruising around. You are allowed to bring alcohol but remember the driver is not allowed to drink while operating the boat. The same law applies for the consumption of alcohol and drugs whether you are driving a boat or a car.
Q: Do I have to pay for gas?
A: No, gas is included in the price of the rental.
Q: Do you provide life jackets?
A: Life jackets are provided for children and adults, and available in all sizes. It is required that all passengers 6 years old and under wear a life preserver while the boat is moving. We have some small life jackets but recommend if you have one that is US Coast Guard approved to bring it with you.
Q: What if it is bad weather?
A: There is NO charge for inclement weather cancellations. Funday Watersports with the advice of Coast Guard weather forecasts will determine when inclement weather is present.
Q: Do I need a reservation? What about refunds?
A: Yes, we do take reservations. Once you have left the dock on your pontoon boat there is NO refund or rain check. Reservation cancellation- If canceled before 24 hours there will be NO charge (Exceptions: Holiday weekends). If less then 24 hours you will be charged full price unless boat is re-rented.